Tags

, , , , , ,


Victorian house

entranceway to the Calhoun Mansion built in 1876, Charleston, South Carolina

Entrance way to the Calhoun Mansion built in 1876, Charleston, South Carolina, also called a foyer.

I love foyers, the one below would be my choice. Foyers were and still are as big as a large bedroom in today’s homes.

/The Ingomar Club, Eureka, California

door-knob detail

victorian ceilings

If your wondering why I have a Victorian house and it’s fixings on our poetry blog, it’s because when I look at a Victorian home, I see poetry. Every detail of these house were crafted with not just necessity but beauty. From the archways to the door knobs and door hinges it was pure art. To many this kind of decor would be just to much and much to busy. Take a look at the ceilings ! And notice that the exterior was not just a simple white or gray but many colors, and most had beautiful porches, totally awesome. If I were younger and had a bit more money, I would definitely be living in a Victorian house right now.

