Tags

, ,


                                                  The Morning glory

I have such a love for this very simple flower and I’m going to tell you why.  It’s a childhood thing.To me they are an old fashioned flower. I grew up in the 40’s and one would see Morning glories growing on every ones picket fences. You don’t see Morning glory’s much anymore. People don’t have picket fences so there’s the answer. Over the years, before I got wheelchair bound, early every morning, before I went to work, I went out in my yard with my cup of coffee to enjoy my Morning glories while they were in bloom. Now that I’m housebound, I don’t get out in my yard but I do get out on my deck, and I do have my Morning Glories planted in a large white pot climbing up a trellis and onto the deck railings. I can still enjoy my Morning glories every morning while I’m sipping my hot cup of coffee and watching my two cats run around in the yard. Life is good.

Heavenly Blue                        

The classic version of Morning glory. This flower likes both full sun and partial shade and needs a dry soil and is drought-tolerant. Most morning glory flowers bloom in the early morning and start to close mid day….hence their name.

Morning glory is the common name for over 1,000 species of flowering plants.

 

 Image:http://www.moplants.com/scotch-broom-goats-and-morning-glory-toxicity/

