Tags

, , , , , , ,


The House With Blue Shutters

I stayed in the bedroom, the one at top of the stairs

It was my uncles when he was young and had few cares

He’s in the army now serving far away from his home

His mom and dad, my grandparents, live here alone

 

I’m now in his bedroom spending time by myself

Either looking at the big ticking clock on the shelf

Or staring out my window at the house across the way

The one with blue shutters and no children their to play

 

Grandma and grandpa don’t have any swings,

They don’t have any pets, don’t even have toys,

I brought my doll, my jacks and a few other things

On this street live only the old, no other girls and boys

 

I’m back in the bedroom staring out my window into space

Rising from the edge of my bed, oh dear, I can’t be certain

It looks to me to be a slight shadow of a girls face

Peering out the blue shuddered window between the curtain

 

Is this my imagination of something I wanted a whole bunch

Mama always say’s I daydream and pretend way too much

Then I see her smile, she moves, her eyelashes flutter

At last I have a playmate in the house next door with blue shutters

 

~ Eileen 2011 ~

740969w8ds0bg4ie

{ Inside The Authors Head  }my-photo (23)

Often my poems come from something going on in my own life. This poem comes from my childhood.
I had two brothers and myself me being the youngest, so I stayed at my grandmothers house more then the boys, they were in school.
I did stay in my uncles bedroom. It was in the early forty’s. My uncle joined the army. He was a young single man where as my dad who was a little older had a wife and three little kids, me being about four. He also was called upon by the government but because of the wife, three kids, and flat feet, he didn’t qualify for service.
Unlike today where grandparents have a bedroom set aside for their grandbaby’s, filled with toys, video games, TV’s and computers.
In my day my grandparents saved the Sunday funny papers for us. My grandpa had a couple of puzzles up on the closet shelf that he brought down when I came for a weekend and he always bought me Neapolitan ice cream. There you have it !
I brought my doll, jump rope, and a coloring book with my box of crayons.
Their was a white house right next to my grandparent house and it did have blue shutters on the windows.
I did sit on the edge of my uncles bed looking out my bedroom window at the window in that house, all of this is true.
The part I made up was that their actually was a child in that other house in the window, there wasn’t.
That of course was my imagination, which I had a big one. It use to make my mother very angry.
I always was getting into trouble at school for “daydreaming”.
My grandparents did live in a neighborhood with very fine houses and older well established people residing in them.
There were no other kids on that block.
